Inside/Outside - Friday, June 5th

Advance reservations will close at 2pm on the day of the event. We will have seats available! Audicenc check-in begins at 6pm. See you at the theatre.


Information about Friday

6:00 pm Advocacy Fair: Learn from partner organizations working towards justice in the criminal justice system; chat with policy advocates and activists; and get prepared for the Legislative Theatre chambers!

7:00 pm Legislative Theatre featuring troupes from Covenant House and Housing Works: Watch original plays based on community actors’ lived experiences of discrimination based on past arrest or conviction. Act onstage to offer alternative responses to these systemic problems, on the individual, institutional and policy levels. Submit policy ideas to representatives from City Council, the Mayor’s Office and the federal government. Vote to carry these ideas forward to their respective chambers.

Participating NYC elected officials include: Council Majority Leader Jimmy Van Bramer; Council Member Carlos Menchaca; Council Member Stephen Levin; Public Advocate Letitia James; Samuel Miller, US Housing and Urban Development. (Day of attendance TBA.)

Post-show reception to follow, with actors, advocates, elected officials and fellow audience members.

June 05, 2015 at 7pm - 9pm
The New School
66 W 12th St
New York, NY 10011
United States
Google map and directions
Theatre of the Oppressed NYC · · (646) 504-4582

Showing 185 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Toby Irving
  • Genesis Medina
  • Rachel Rhoades
  • Mary Strong
  • Katie Lindsay
  • Erica Molina
  • Stephanie Pennacchia
  • Vicky Katz
  • Beppe Lovoi
  • Natalie Gheit
  • Eric Anderson
  • Maya Gutierrez
  • Caroline Gart
  • Lauren Wilfong
  • Mia Vallet
  • Rachel selekman
  • Candace Rivela
  • Brooke Richie-Babbage
  • Lance Richardson
  • Angela Muriel
  • Aspen Kincaid
  • Kiran Helferty
  • Laurel Gwizdak
  • Ana Freeman
  • Lindsay Fisher
  • Lee Sunday Evans
  • Julia Dobner-Pereira
  • Emily Daly
  • Laetitia Butler
  • Mette Bohnstedt